Iowa ACTE Best Practices has ended

Sign up or log in to bookmark your favorites and sync them to your phone or calendar.

CTE Issues/Information [clear filter]
Tuesday, September 17

10:00am CDT

Power^ Your Classroom with CTSO Integration
Career and Technical Student Organizations (CTSOs) have been proven to be extremely valuable and effective instructional tools. A CTSO, when implemented correctly by a CTE instructor, is an integral part of a well-structured, high-performing CTE program. CTSOs are designed to be integrated directly into the curriculum, they are not just extracurricular clubs or competitions. This workshop will help participants learn more about best practices to enhance student experiences and build membership in their program's organization. 

avatar for Katy Blatnick-Gagne

Katy Blatnick-Gagne

CTE Consultant, Iowa Department of Education
Dr. Blatnick-Gagne is a native of Colorado where she spent over 14 years in family and consumer sciences education (teaching, advising and at the state level). She received her Doctorate in Educational Technology Leadership from New Jersey City University and then worked at Texas... Read More →
avatar for Kent Seuferer

Kent Seuferer

Educational Program Consultant, Iowa Department of Education
Kent Seuferer is the Education Program Consultant with the Iowa Department of Education, specializing in Career and Technical Student Organizations. Kent has demonstrated a passion for developing student leaders through CTSOs. He participated in several CTSOs at Chariton High School... Read More →

Tuesday September 17, 2019 10:00am - 10:45am CDT
Room 109

2:30pm CDT

Student Engagement through National Policy Seminar & President Scholars
ACTE organizes the National Policy Seminar (NPS) in Washington, D.C. each year as a vehicle for CTE educators and students to learn more how policy is determined and to provide an opportunity for them to contact and impact legislators. Iowa ACTE believes that students are a vital and critical portion of Iowa’s delegation each year and has ­­­­­­­­committed $4000 (up to $1000 per student from four career and technical student organizations (CTSOs) to cover air fare and hotel accommodations for this purpose each year. The expectation is that these teachers would return to their individual school districts, and through their respective CTSOs, spread the importance of CTE to a student’s personal and professional future. Special guest attendees: CTE Presidential Scholar Program recipients, Jaxon Mullinnix and Megan Niewoehner. NPS attendees: Jake Hlas (FFA), Levi Hoffman (FBLA-PBL), Taylor Streff (HOSA), and Ellie Smith (TSA).

avatar for Sandy Miller

Sandy Miller

Executive Director, Iowa ACTE
Iowa ACTE’s mission is to provide educational leadership in developing a competitive workforce.


Tuesday September 17, 2019 2:30pm - 3:15pm CDT
Room 109